So this is what accomplishment feels like!!

Denise – 1       Procrastination-3,826,173 -0     (I hit the reset button today.)

I can officially say I have completed 1 task from  my “Bucket List”!

  1.  START A BLOG!!!!

When I hit “publish” I do expect to hear a chorus of angels singing Handel’s Alleluia Chorus.

Other items on my list are organize the hall closet and one day, see the Pyramids.  I don’t expect to make a trip to Egypt any time soon and I would rather get my eyebrows waxed than organize a closet.

Why a blog you ask?  Well, I like to write.  I have notebooks and file folders filled with story ideas and bits and pieces of stories.  Many years ago, the idea of a perfect, relaxing day was to get a brand new notebook, a $3.00 pen, go sit in a bookstore coffee house, and just write.   My stories are not finished and the idea of editing them is frightening.  Even though I am a teacher, I have the worst grammar, as you will begin to notice.  I grade enough writing in a day that I try to avoid correcting mine.

So after I made a decision about writing a blog, I needed to decide what I was going to write about.  Well, what do I like to do?

  1. Play on Pinterest.  No one wants to read how I’m excited to make my own Febreeze spray this weekend.
  2. I like to cook, well I like to eat.   Many times I just order sushi or beg my friends to go out for happy hour .
  3. I like to read, but all I can say after I read a book is “I liked it.” Or “I didn’t like it.”  Also I have a fantastic book club for those discussions.

I looked at some blogs from friends of mine.  One friend from college is writing a blog about her numerous and hilarious adventures from Sri Lanka.  We have many great and hilarious adventures of our own from college but I spent quite a bit of money on therapy to erase those memories.  I thought about why I enjoyed reading her blog so much.  Aside from remembering why I don’t live in a foreign country, I realized that I laugh and smile every time I read it.

What makes me smile?  Lots of things.  Getting my nails done, texting  my boyfriend while he works his midnight shift, having a glass of wine with my besties, and watching Duck Dynasty.  But what makes me smile the most, is my kids.  They make me laugh, cry, want to pull my hair out, want to ship them off to live with my sister in China, but they make me smile like no other thing in this world.

Now I have a blog about my kids.  More like what makes me smile which means 90% will be about my kids.  The name.  This comes from my son.  Bless Yous are what he calls sneezes.  It makes sense.  When you sneeze, someone says “Bless You!”.  With the onset of allergy season, many conversations begin with “Mom!  I’m blessuing all day!!!”  See, he can even conjugate it!  Smarshmallows are marshmallows.  It’s like when  a kid says psaghetti.   I’m sure he will eventually outgrow it.  I can’t seem to correct him, it’s so cute.  I do realize that I am setting him up for a beating one day from a kid that makes fun of him for it.  I can see it now, my son, 14 years old, walking in the door with a black eye.

“Did you know they are NOT called Smarshmallows!?!?!”

“Um, yes.”

“Why didn’t you tell me?”.

“It made me giggle…”

About Bless Yous and Smarshmallows

Single mom of 2 kiddo's that make me laugh every day. Teacher and part time rocker in a band. I love to read, travel, watch cooking shows, and enjoy desserts with my friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So this is what accomplishment feels like!!

  1. Rita says:

    I am a grandmother and loved reading this. It is much easier to laugh at things when you are a grandmother than when you are the parent. You have the right idea. I wish I would have laughed more as my two girls were growing up. Good job…I can’t wait to read more.

  2. I’m reading your posts in reverse order…and they’re making me smile and giggle.

  3. kelloggs77 says:

    Love the title!!! Your posts are so fun to read! Glad I saw you had a blog. Maybe writing awesome blogs is a product of the awesome high school we went to.

Leave a Reply

