Let the teenage drama games begin……

As the mother of a 9 year old going on 25 year old daughter, I have been anxiously awaiting for the arguing, eye rolling, and sighing to rear it’s ugly head.  Honestly, there are times I’ve wished I could react to a stressful situation by rolling my eyes and storming off into another room.  Slamming doors may be therapeutic.

I left my last blog saying, “that made me giggle.”  I was reminded of the first time my daughter slammed her bedroom door on me.  Not a moment you would expect to giggle, I know.  I’m trying to make a strong finish in my run for “Mother of the Year”.  I haven’t had a good showing since we had pop tarts for dinner.

I have learned that when my son is on the edge of a meltdown, I have to walk a fine line between being firm, supportive, or throw in a heavy dose of laughter.  My daughter is easy to bring back from the edge of the cliff.  Laughter.  Well until one day…

After coming home from school one afternoon, my daughter sat down and tried to finish her homework.  She was asking for help with a worksheet on animal habitats.  As a teacher myself, I tend to answer questions with a question.  This drives my daughter nuts.

“Why don’t you just help me!”

“I am helping you.”

“This isn’t helping!!!”

After several directed questions, my daughter came up with the answer to the question.  Being a supportive mother, I said “Yes! Write that down!”  With that she replied, “Write what down?”  I then began to laugh, thinking she would also laugh, calm down and get back to work.  Wrong……  I seemed to have missed the internal drama switch flip at that very moment.

After slamming her head on the coffee table and making a noise that sounded like a dying cat, I tried more humor.  Again, Wrong…..

She got up, stomped into her room and slammed the door.  BAM!  One minute later, I heard the door open, the sound of crumpled paper, and the door slam again.  BAM!

After stifling the giggles and respecting her need to get away from me, I went to her door and found this…

Image

I then decided to give her a bit more time.  Actually, I needed to compose myself again.

After 5 minutes and with my best attempt to put on my “understanding face”, I knocked on her door.  I heard a little voice say, “Come in.”.

I walked in to find her sprawled on her bed with her school folder across her face.  Which I was very thankful for because I needed to put my “understanding” face back on.

I laid down next to her, cuddled in and said I was sorry.  I saw the corners of her mouth turn up.  She was putting up a pretty good fight.  She wanted to be mad at me.  I asked if she needed any help and she showed me her page.  It was completed!  So after a few more giggles we went about the rest of our day.

It was the most polite door slam I have ever heard of.  I’m hoping that this behavior continues well through her 30’s but I do know that I will not be so lucky in the future.

About Bless Yous and Smarshmallows

Single mom of 2 kiddo's that make me laugh every day. Teacher and part time rocker in a band. I love to read, travel, watch cooking shows, and enjoy desserts with my friends.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

