Did it pass the Cupcake Wars Challenge?

Yesterday was one of the hottest days in St. Louis in quite a while.  Of course that meant that we had 3 baseball games scheduled.  Both kiddos were troopers and made it through without passing out or throwing up.

On the way home we passed a sign for Jilly’s Cupcake Bar.   A stop at Jilly’s has been on our to do list ever since we saw the owner compete on Food Network’s Cupcake Wars.  As we pulled in, my daughter asked if we would be able to see the owner make the cupcakes.  I explained that he probably wasn’t there, the same way I explained that the owner of Sprinkles Cupcakes would not be making our desserts when we visited Chicago and that we would not meet Justin Bieber as we ran through LAX to connect to our flight to Shanghai, China.

We went in and I was very thankful that there was a selection of only 6-8 cupcakes.  My daughter narrowed in on the few that said “chocolate” somewhere in the description.  My son looked at anything that did not say “chocolate” and I narrowed in on the few that had descriptions such as “lemon”, “coffee”, and “carrot cake”.  The cupcakes looked amazing!  The descriptions explained the cake flavor, filling, icing and other wonderful, mouthwatering toppings.

My daughter immediately selected in on a chocoholic’s dream, I found a lemon beauty that already spiked my blood sugar and my son choose a pink lemonade cupcake that would be available throughout the month of June.

After we grabbed a few drinks (I was looking for milk but they didn’t have any!!!) we sat down, opened our packages and grabbed a spoon!  My daughter stopped talking as she went in head first to her peanut butter, Reeses cup, chocolate ganache tower.  I devoured 1/2 of my lemon piece of heaven and then quickly closed the package to save for later.  My son took a bite and then spent the next 5 minutes explaining that even though his cupcake was pink it was not a “girl cupcake”.

The kids came up for air a few times to take a drink, unwrap more cupcake liner and to say “thank you”.  It was one of those moments that I wanted to freeze in time.  We spontaneously stopped for something we had talked about doing for a long time.  No one was yelling at each other, or complaining that they were hot, or asking 50 time if we could go home.  We walked out and my son gave me a hug.  My daughter smiled and said “This was a great day mom.”

And then we got in the car, the exhaustion and the sugar rush kicked in, and my angels turned into demons that needed a nap….

but I still had my 1/2 of lemon goodness…..

About Bless Yous and Smarshmallows

Single mom of 2 kiddo's that make me laugh every day. Teacher and part time rocker in a band. I love to read, travel, watch cooking shows, and enjoy desserts with my friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Did it pass the Cupcake Wars Challenge?

  1. Love those moments! Now I really have to take Beka to Jilly’s…it’s been on our list of things to do for the same reason. 🙂

  2. bckitty says:

    Sounds like a fantastic cupcake experience! Great blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

