185 ways to enhance my life, or at least entertain myself for an evening.

If you live in St. Louis you know one thing.  It’s hot.  Really hot.  Like 107 hot.  I did venture out to the pool with the kids yesterday but unless I am in the pool, I don’t like to go outside.  To get to the pool you have to go outside, get in a car that is 120 degrees and drive to the pool.  Needless to say, I am staying on my couch today.

I’m searching for something to make me smile today.  I have a headache.  It’s probably from either the beginnings of a sinus infection (which is being passed back and forth between my kids) or coffee withdrawal.  I could make coffee but I ran out of coffee liners.  I could use the French Press or “God forbid” go to the store, but I don’t want to go to the store, I have a headache.  And it’s hot outside…..

My kids are off to a birthday party with their dad and will not be back until tomorrow.  So what does a girl do when she has the day to herself?  BUY SHOES!  But that would require me to get in the car. Did I mention that it was hot? (I tend to get a bit whiny when I have a headache)  Since I am not going to buy shoes, I’m going to catch up on reading my blog subscriptions!

I have 44 blog subscriptions that run from one end of the spectrum to the other.  I love to sit with my computer, have a cup of coffee, and become inspired.  I had 185 new posts to read.  Here is just a glimpse of my reading today.

Free Kindle books.  I have more than I can count of cookbooks.  Cookie recipes, slow cooker recipes, summer salads, smoothies.  I even clicked on the link to get “1001 Slow Cooker Recipes”.  I was immediately sent to a page stating I had already purchased it!  I then recieved a lengthy throuble shooting document from Amazon.com explaining how I can locate any past purchases and a phone number to contact a helpful representative if I was still having trouble finding it.  I could have answered that in one step…”turn my Kindle on and open my “cookbooks” catalogue”.  You can imagine how often I have done that!

There is something exciting about getting something for free.   About twice a week I get small, over-wrapped packages of free soap, lotion, or laundry detergent in the mail.  Many times, in order to get a free sample, you have to fill out a questionnaire or “Like” it on Facebook.  If you look at my Profile page, you will see that I now have a fascination with Nivea, General Mills, and Tide.  On a blog post today, I found a link to a product that I had already received a sample.  Sneaky me, thought I could get a sample again…no, Facebook is smarter than that.  Darn…I liked that lotion.  I smelled pretty all day yesterday.

I was reminded that I can buy flip flops at Old Navy for a dollar today and if I go to Starbucks on July 4th, I can get a free cup of coffee.  All that did was remind me that I did not want to go outside and that I don’t have coffee.

Several posts link up coupons with my grocery and drug store circulars for the week.  My dad was the store circular king.  He taught me to go to 2 or more stores, and how to check price per ounce or gram or pound to get the best value.  I still can’t pass on a deal for quartered chicken without thinking of him.

Then come the “healthy” posts.  I read about the benefits to a low carb breakfast but according to Dr. Oz, I need to increase carbs in order to reduce my behind..  I found a recipe for vanilla, blueberry, buttermilk pancakes that looked delicious.  I then remembered I have a box of Bisquick that I haven’t touched in a year.  Did start juicing and I have found some great recipes.  My son loves to make juice from whatever fruits and veggies we have and in the process, dodge flying fruit bits being whizzed around my kitchen.  I have a few favorite blogs for working out.  I have work out routines for my behind, my legs, my abs, and muscles I didn’t know I had.  I hate working out.  I’m doing more than I have ever done in my life but realize more and more each day that I hate it.  I need the reminders and motivation on a daily basis.

I came across a post to make my own yogurt in a crock pot and another on how to make my own toothpaste. Both probably have the same consistency.

Not all of the posts are ways to reduce my bills or my derriere.  I have two friends from college that write about their life and family.  These are the posts that I laugh out loud, realizing I’m not the only one that gets puked on or has to entertain my kids while I have a hangover.

I do follow one teaching blog.  I tend to “leave work at work” so I don’t search for a lot about teaching outside of my work day.  Also, it’s summer.  I just finished teaching a week of Vacation Bible School so I got my “teaching fix” that will take me through August.

There are a few parenting posts that I like.  After reading these I feel validated that I’m not the only one that  struggles with a dramatic 9 year old daughter or a 7 year old boy that won’t stop saying “butt” or “pee” or “poop” whenever he can.  Today’s post was “Training your children in home economics”.  I passed over that one.  Denise and Home Economics have never been used in the same sentence before.  My children will not be going through any “training” from me.

Now that I have caught up on my blog posts I am motivated to go to the grocery store, try a few new recipes, and organize the cabinet under my sink….tomorrow 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Bless Yous and Smarshmallows

Single mom of 2 kiddo's that make me laugh every day. Teacher and part time rocker in a band. I love to read, travel, watch cooking shows, and enjoy desserts with my friends.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 185 ways to enhance my life, or at least entertain myself for an evening.

  1. Dorothy Gale says:

    Good stuff! I think you need to link us to some of these blogs! And, I feel you on the heat. I live on a tropical island, remember?! The hotter it gets, the more stuff I buy online.

  2. Sounds like you used your time very wisely on a very hot St. Louis day. Are you sure about passing on that crock pot toothpaste? It could be a great family project. 🙂

Leave a Reply

